Theory

Carnegie Mellon University has a strong and diverse group in Algorithms and Complexity Theory. The goals of the group are, broadly speaking, to provide a mathematical understanding of fundamental issues in Computer Science, and to use this understanding to produce better algorithms, protocols, and systems, as well as identify the inherent limitations of efficient computation. Research interests include data structures, algorithm design, complexity theory, coding theory, parallel algorithms and languages, machine learning theory, cryptography and security, computational aspects of economics, online algorithms, and scientific computing. 

http://theory.cs.cmu.edu

Faculty working in this area:

Last First Titlesort descending Email
Sandholm Tuomas Angel Jordan University Professor of Computer Science sandholm@cs.cmu.edu
Beckmann Nathan Assistant Professor beckmann@cs.cmu.edu
Shah Nihar Assistant Professor nihars@cs.cmu.edu
Vinayak Rashmi Korlakai Assistant Professor rvinayak@andrew.cmu.edu
Wang Weina Assistant Professor weinaw@andrew.cmu.edu
Acar Umut Associate Professor umut@cs.cmu.edu
Shi Elaine Associate Professor rshi@andrew.cmu.edu
Blelloch Guy Professor guyb@cs.cmu.edu
Sleator Daniel Professor sleator@cs.cmu.edu
Rudich Steven Professor rudich@cs.cmu.edu
Harchol-Balter Mor Professor harchol@cs.cmu.edu
Balcan Nina Professor ninamf@cs.cmu.edu
Gupta Anupam Professor anupamg@cs.cmu.edu
Schwartz Russell Professor russells@andrew.cmu.edu
O'Donnell Ryan Professor odonnell@cs.cmu.edu
Woodruff David Professor dwoodruf@cs.cmu.edu
Miller Gary Professor Emeritus glmiller@cs.cmu.edu
Blum Manuel University Professor, Emeritus mblum@cs.cmu.edu
Subscribe to Theory