Three SCS Faculty Members Named 2019 IEEE Fellows

Wednesday, December 5, 2018 - by Byron Spice

SCS faculty members Mor Harchol-Balter, Venkatesan Guruswami and Eric Xing have been named IEEE fellows.

Three School of Computer Science faculty members — Venkatesan Guruswami, Mor Harchol-Balter and Eric Xing — have been elevated to fellows in the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the world's largest technical professional organization.

Fellow status is a distinction reserved for select members who have demonstrated extraordinary accomplishments in an IEEE field of interest.

Guruswami, a professor in the Computer Science Department (CSD), was cited "for contributions to list error-correction and algorithmic coding theory." His research spans a number of topics in theoretical computer science, including the theory of error-correcting codes, probabilistically checkable proofs, computational complexity theory and algebraic algorithms. He joined the CMU faculty in 2009.

Harchol-Balter, a professor in CSD since 1999, was cited "for contributions to performance analysis and design of computer systems." Her work on designing new resource-allocation policies includes load-balancing policies, power-management policies and scheduling policies for distributed systems. She is heavily involved in the SIGMETRICS/PERFORMANCE research community and is the author of a popular textbook, "Performance Analysis and Design of Computer Systems."

Xing, a professor in the Machine Learning Department since 2004, was cited "for contributions to machine learning algorithms and systems." His research interests lie in machine learning, computational biology and statistical methodology. He and his collaborators have developed a framework called Petuum for distributed machine learning with massive data, big models and a wide spectrum of algorithms. Petuum is now established as a company, of which Xing is founder, CEO and chief scientist.

The total number of fellows selected in any one year cannot exceed one-tenth of one percent of the total voting IEEE membership. A complete list of the Class of 2019 is available on the IEEE site.

For more information, Contact:
Byron Spice | 412-268-9068 |