Four SCS Faculty Members Named University Professors

SCS Faculty Members Jessica Hodgins, Kathryn Roeder, Tuomas Sandholm and Mahadev Satyanarayanan have been named University Professors.

Four faculty members from the School of Computer Science have been elevated to the rank of University Professor, the highest distinction a faculty member can achieve at Carnegie Mellon University.

The newly appointed University Professors are Jessica Hodgins, Kathryn Roeder, Tuomas Sandholm and Mahadev Satyanarayanan. They join three other CMU professors who are being honored this year: Allen L. Robinson of the College of Engineering, Susanne Slavick of the College of Fine Arts, and Joe William Trotter Jr. of the Dietrich College of Humanities and Social Sciences. The new University Professors will be recognized at a future event.

"University Professors are distinguished by international recognition and for their contributions to education, artistic creativity and/or research," said Provost Jim Garrett. "Each University Professor exemplifies a high level of professional achievement, and an exceptional commitment to academic excellence at our university."

Garrett said the professors were nominated and recommended by academic leaders and faculty who have achieved the designation of University Professor.

For More Information, Contact:

Byron Spice | 412-268-9068 | bspice@cs.cmu.eduVirginia Alvino Young | 412-268-8356 |