SCS Scientists Receive Sloan Research Fellowships

Five CMU scientists have received 2018 Sloan Research Fellowships.

School of Computer Science faculty members Chris Harrison, Bryan Parno, Andrew Pavlo and Andreas Pfenning have received 2018 Sloan Research Fellowships, which honor early career scholars whose achievements put them among the very best scientific minds working today. They, along with CMU mechanical engineer Venkat Viswanathan, are among 126 outstanding North American researchers honored by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

Winners receive a two-year, $65,000 fellowship to further their research.

"The Sloan Research Fellows represent the very best science has to offer," said Sloan President Adam Falk. "The brightest minds, tackling the hardest problems and succeeding brilliantly — fellows are quite literally the future of 21st century science."

For More Information, Contact:

Byron Spice | 412-268-9068 |