Systems

Building innovative systems of sufficient realism, scale, performance and usability to directly impact the practice of computing is a hallmark of Carnegie Mellon.

We often use the statement “System building is a first-class activity” to signify our belief that this activity is worthy of the finest minds and deserves the highest respect. We also believe that the effort involved in building realistic systems is amply rewarded by the insights gained and the impact achieved.

A rich tradition of systems such as Mach, Warp, Camelot, AFS, Spice, Hydra, Cm* and C.mmp stretching over twenty-five years forms the backdrop for our current research.

Faculty working in this area:

Last First Title Emailsort ascending
Agarwal Yuvraj Associate Professor yuvraj.agarwal@cs.cmu.edu
Sekar Vyas Assistant Professor vyass@cs.cmu.edu
Mowry Todd Professor & Director of Computer Science Doctoral Program tcm@cs.cmu.edu
Kumar Swarun Assistant Professor swarun@cmu.edu
Seshan Srinivasan Department Head, Computer Science Department; Professor srini@cs.cmu.edu
Shaw Mary A. J. Perlis University Professor; Faculty shaw@cs.cmu.edu
Goldstein Seth Associate Professor seth@cs.cmu.edu
Schmerl Bradley Principal Systems Scientist schmerl@cs.cmu.edu
Satyanarayanan Mahadev Carnegie Group Professor of Computer Science satya@cs.cmu.edu
Harper Robert Professor rwh@cs.cmu.edu
Vinayak Rashmi Korlakai Assistant Professor rvinayak@andrew.cmu.edu
Dannenberg Roger Professor; Director of CS Masters Program rbd@cs.cmu.edu
Steenkiste Peter Professor of Computer Science And Electrical And Computer Engineering prs@cs.cmu.edu
Pavlo Andy Associate Professor pavlo@cs.cmu.edu
Parno Bryan Associate Professor parno@cmu.edu
Maxion Roy Research Professor maxion@cs.cmu.edu
Crane Keenan Assistant Professor keenanc@andrew.cmu.edu
Wing Jeannette Adjunct Faculty jw35@andrew.cmu.edu
Sherry Justine Assistant Professor justines@andrew.cmu.edu
Wactlar Howard Research Faculty Emeritus hdw@cs.cmu.edu
Harchol-Balter Mor Professor harchol@cs.cmu.edu
Fanti Giulia Assistant Professor gfanti@andrew.cmu.edu
Gibson Garth Consulting Professor garth@cs.cmu.edu
Garlan David Associate Dean for Masters Programs; Professor garlan@cs.cmu.edu
Ganger Greg Professor ganger@cs.cmu.edu
Fink Eugene Senior Systems Scientist eugenefink@cmu.edu
O'Hallaron David Professor of Computer Science And Electrical And Computer Engineering droh@cs.cmu.edu
Siewiorek Daniel Buhl University Professor of Electrical And Computer Engineering And Computer Science; Faculty dps@cs.cmu.edu
Andersen David Professor dga@cs.cmu.edu
Brumley David Affiliated Faculty dbrumley@cs.cmu.edu
Faloutsos Christos Professor christos@cs.cmu.edu
Bryant Randy University Professor bryant@cs.cmu.edu
Lucia Brandon Assistant Professor blucia@andrew.cmu.edu
Beckmann Nathan Assistant Professor beckmann@cs.cmu.edu
Subscribe to Systems