News In and Around CSD

by Byron Spice | Friday, June 19, 2020

Martial Hebert, dean of Carnegie Mellon University's School of Computer Science, has named Russell Schwartz the new head of the Computational Biology Department, effective July 1.

Schwartz, a professor in both the Computational Biology Department (CBD) and the Department of Biological Sciences, will succeed Robert F. Murphy, who founded CBD and... Read More

by Byron Spice | Monday, June 8, 2020

Three School of Computer Science faculty members — Michael Hilton, Stephanie Rosenthal and Joshua Sunshine — have been named 2020-21 Wimmer Faculty Fellows by the university's Eberly Center for Teaching Excellence and Educational Innovation.

The fellowships, sponsored by the Wimmer Family Foundation, are designed for junior faculty members who seek to enhance their teaching by designing or redesigning a course, creating innovative new teaching materials, or... Read More

Visualizations Poised To Enrich Teaching, Scientific Communication
by Byron Spice | Tuesday, June 2, 2020

Some people look at an equation and see a bunch of numbers and symbols; others see beauty. Thanks to a new tool created at Carnegie Mellon University, anyone can now translate the abstractions of mathematics into beautiful and instructive illustrations.

The tool enables users to create diagrams simply by typing an ordinary mathematical expression and letting the software do the drawing. Unlike a graphing calculator, these expressions aren't limited to basic functions, but can be complex relationships from any area of mathematics.... Read More

by Heidi Opdyke | Tuesday, May 26, 2020

Vaidehi Srinivas, who recently graduated with a bachelor's degree in computer science, will head to Austria as one of seven Carnegie Mellon University students selected as 2020-2021 Fulbright Student Grantees.

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of State's Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, the Fulbright U.S. Student Program is intended to "increase mutual understanding between the... Read More

by Byron Spice | Wednesday, May 20, 2020

The Association for Computing Machinery has announced that Carnegie Mellon University's Phillip Gibbons, professor in the Computer Science and the Electrical and Computer Engineering Departments, will receive the Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award.

Gibbons will share the award with Noga Alon of Princeton University and Tel Aviv University, Yossi Matias of Google and Tel Aviv University and Mario Szegedy of Rutgers University. The award recognizes them... Read More

by Byron Spice | Friday, May 15, 2020

Four faculty members from the School of Computer Science have been elevated to the rank of University Professor, the highest distinction a faculty member can achieve at Carnegie Mellon University.

The newly appointed University Professors are Jessica Hodgins, Kathryn Roeder, Tuomas Sandholm and Mahadev Satyanarayanan. They join three other CMU professors who are being honored this year: Allen L. Robinson of the... Read More

CSD's Touretzky Leads National Effort To Define K-12 AI Curriculum
by Byron Spice | Monday, May 4, 2020

A project to develop an artificial intelligence curriculum for grades K-12 headed by David Touretzky, a research professor in the Computer Science Department, will be featured in the National Science Foundation-funded 2020 STEM for All Video Showcase, which will be online May 5–12.

The video, "Sparking AI Curiosity With the... Read More

by Virginia Alvino Young | Wednesday, April 8, 2020

Maria Florina "Nina" Balcan, an associate professor in the School of Computer Science's Machine Learning and Computer Science Departments, has received the 2019 Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Grace Murray Hopper Award for her significant innovations in machine learning and minimally supervised learning. This award is given to the outstanding young... Read More

One Of Just Eight Researchers To Receive An Award
by Jenn Landefeld | Thursday, April 2, 2020

Rashmi Vinayak has been awarded a Facebook Research Distributed Systems research award. Vinayak, an assistant professor in the Computer Science Department, was one of only eight reserachers selected to receive an award out of a total of 63 proposals sumited from 12... Read More

by Byron Spice | Wednesday, April 1, 2020

Jessica Lee, a junior majoring in computer science, is one of four Carnegie Mellon University students selected to receive a 2020 Barry Goldwater Scholarship, which is awarded to sophomores and juniors who show promise as leaders in the natural sciences, engineering and mathematics.

Lee, along with CMU biological sciences major Cassandra Bishop, neuroscience major Shiv Sethi and math major Noah Stevenson (all... Read More


Subscribe to News In and Around CSD